Karnataka Election Results LIVE: BJP inching towards majority, crosses 100-seat mark | News | Nelive

Karnataka Election Results LIVE: BJP inching towards majority, crosses 100-seat mark

May 15, 2018 10:02

Will the Siddaramaiah-led Congress retain its last stronghold or Prime Minister Narendra Modi's BJP continue its winning spree in the southern state Karnataka as well? All the questions will be answered as counting of votes for 222 of the 224 Assembly seats in Karnataka begins on Tuesday amid fervent prayers by all partakers.

The counting started at 8 am and postal votes were being counted in first one hour. The counting will take place in 38 centers spread across 33 districts of Karnataka.

Both the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party were claiming to cross the majority mark of 112 seats even as the exit polls predicted a hung Assembly with the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) playing the "kingmaker role".

In one of the most high-profile and bitterly fought elections in recent times, Karnataka went to polls on May 12. Since 1985, no party has retained the reins of the state and in case of a clear verdict in favour of the Congress, the party will break the decades-old jinx.

Related: West-Bengal Panchayat Election 2018: 2 dead, several injured as violence Mars polling in four districts

Karnataka Election Results Live Updates:

#09:30 AM: In a significant development, the BJP is moving towards a clear majority. The party is currently leading in 105 seats while the Congress' lead reduced to 70 seats.

# 09:20 AM: Official EC trends: BJP leading on 58 seats,Congress leading on 27 seats, JDS on 24 and others on 3 seats

#09:15 AM: For Congress, all options open: "These are initial trends, we hope Congress will form the Govt in Karnataka and are confident of it, but yes all options(allying with JDS) are open," says Ashok Gehlot.

#09:10 AM: As News Nation exit poll survey predicted, Karnataka moving towards a hung Assembly with BJP emerging as the single largest party and the Congress close second. JD(S) is likely to play the 'kingmaker'.

#09:05 AM: As early trends show Congress trailing in Karnataka, party's senior leader Ghulam Nabi Azad met JD(S) chief and former prime minister HD Deve Gowda.

#08:55 AM: BJP's CM candidate BS Yeddyurappa offered prayers, earlier today, on counting day for Karnataka Elections 2018

#08:50 AM: Karnataka Elections 2018 official EC trends: BJP leading in 10 seats, Congress leading in 5 seats, JD-S in 1 and others in 1

#08: 40 AM: Watch now: Fastest and accurate results of Karnataka Assembly election on News Nation.

#08:30 AM: While BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa is leading from Shikaripur seat. Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is trailing from both seats - Badami and Chamundeshwari.

#08:20 AM: EVMs opens across counting centres in Karnataka. Visuals from a counting centre in Kalaburagi's Afzalpur.

#08:15 AM: Region-wise early trends:

Central Karnataka (35 seats): BJP 2, Cong 2, JDS+ 4, Others 0

Hyderabad Karnataka (31 seats): BJP 2, Cong 3, JDS+ 0, Others 0

Mumbai Karnataka (50 seats): BJP 4, Cong 5, JDS+ 1, Others 0

Coastal Karnataka (21 seats): BJP 2, Cong 1, JDS+ 0, Others 0

South Karnataka (55 seats): BJP 2, Cong 4, JDS+ 0, Others 0

Greater Bengaluru (30 seats): BJP 3, Cong 3, JDS+ 0, Others 0

# 08:10 AM: Congress ahead in early trends, BJP close second, JD(S) distant third.

# 08:00 AM: Counting of votes for Karnataka Elections 2018 begins, postal ballots to be counted first.

# 07:50 AM: Bellary: BJP's B Sriramalu prays ahead of counting of votes. He is contesting against CM Siddaramaiah from Badami constituency.

# 07: 40 AM: Let seniors take a call on alliance: Congress candidate from Varuna and son of CM Siddaramaiah Yathindra spoke about the results and a possible tie-up with the JDS. He said, "Senior party leaders will decide on this, but we are confident and hope to form Government on our own."

# 07: 35 AM: JDS's HD Kumaraswamy offers prayers at Adichunchanagiri Mahasamsthana Math in Nagamangala ahead of counting of votes for Karnataka Elections 2018. Kumaraswamy is contesting from Ramanagara and Channapatna constituencies.

#07:30 AM: 11,000 police personnel, 1 Rapid Action Force (RAF) company & 20 Karnataka State Reserve Police (KSRP) companies have been deployed across Bengaluru today ahead of counting of votes for Karnataka Elections 2018.

Source: News Nation

May 15, 2018 10:02

WhatsApp, NorhEast Iindia, Breaking News, News, Assam, Manipur, Politics, Crime, Travel, Lifestyle, NorhEast, NorhEasters

Subscribe to NorthEast India Breaking News Alert by sending Start to 9958459882 via WhatsApp

About Author

See also

Bijoya Dashami, Dussehra
Guwahati Staff Curator
Assam Governor Jagdish Mukhi on Friday greeted the people...
Assam, NIA, Fake Currency, Guwahati
Guwahati Staff Curator
A National Investigation Agency team from Hyderabad...
Lalengzama Vangchhia, Mizoram, Bengaluru FC B Squad, Jammu and Kashmir Invitational Cup, Governor’s Gold Cup, Sikkim
Aizawl Staff Curator
Midfielder Lalengzama Vangchhia has been named the skipper...
Sikkim, UN Award, World’s First, Organic State
Gangtok Staff Curator
‘Small but beautiful’, Sikkim has set an example for the...
Assam Rifles, Gold Bars, Smuggling, Mizoram
Aizawl Staff Curator
A joint operation conducted by Aizawl Battalion of 23...