Parliamentarians Who Rose Above the Rest for Arunachal Pradesh | Photo-Gallery | Nelive

Parliamentarians Who Rose Above the Rest for Arunachal Pradesh

Oct 07, 2017 15:42

Formerly known as North East Frontier Agency, Arunachal Pradesh is the eastern most state of the country. The state has international borders with ChinaBhutan and Myanmar. Because of its close proximity to China, Arunachal Pradesh is regarded as a strategically important state. Naturally, politicians from the state command considerable respect in New Delhi. Over the years, many politicians from the state have proved their mettle in national politics. The latest in this regard is Kiren Rijiju, the current Union Minister of State for Home Affairs. Let’s take a look at some Parliamentarians from Arunachal Pradesh who rose above the rest.

Kiren Rijiju

One of the most dynamic politicians of the country, and definitely of the region, Kiren Rijiju is easily recognized as the face of BJP in the North East. His father was the first speaker in the first legislative assembly of the state. Rijiju was also active in social affairs since his school days. He was first elected to Lok Sabha in 2004 and currently he is on his third term. In the Narendra Modi government, Kiren Rijiju is the Union Minister of State for Home Affairs. 

Related: 7 Parliamentarians Who Made Meghalaya Proud 

Takam Sanjoy

A member of the Indian National CongressTakam Sanjoy enjoyed a seat in the lower house of Parliament during the 15th Lok Sabha (from 2009-2014). Before joining national politics, Sanjoy was actively involved in state politics. He was first elected to the state legislative assembly in 1994. From working for women’s causes to being the voice for tribal education, Sanjoy has been a very vocal politician.

Related: 7 Parliamentarians Who Proved That Tripura Is Not a Backward State

Ninong Ering

The current MP to the Lok Sabha from Arunachal East (Lok Sabha constituency), he belongs to the Indian National Congress party. He was also a member of the 15th Lok Sabha during the period 2009-2014. Prior to that Ering was a Member of the Legislative Assembly, first as an independent candidate, and later on a Congress ticket. He was also a minister of state and a deputy speaker of the Arunachal Pradesh assembly.

Related: 5 Parliamentarians Who Helped Sikkim Become a Flourishing State

Tapir Gao

A member of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Tapir Gao served in the lower house of Parliament from 2004 to 2009. He represented Arunachal East (Lok Sabha constituency). Previously Gao was also the general secretary of BJP for the state.

Related: 7 Parliamentarians Who Helped in Overall Development of Mizoram

Mukut Mithi

The current Member of Rajya Sabha representing the sole seat of the state to the Upper House, Mukut Mithi is a veteran politician. He was a former chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh and also the Lieutenant Governor of Puducherry. As a member of the Indian National Congress, Mithi has held all the above posts with poise.

Related: 7 Parliamentarians Who Have Been The Voice of Assam

Omem MoyongDeori

Omem Moyong Deori was one of the most respected politicians of Arunachal Pradesh. She was not only an integral member of Congress party but was also believed to be close to Indira Gandhi. She had served as a member of Rajya Sabha from 1984 to 1990 and was also awarded the Padma Shri in 1984 for social service. She passed away in 2007.

Related: 7 Parliamentarians Who Proved Their Dedication for Nagaland

Yonggam Nyodek

The politician from Arunachal Pradesh has been a member of the Rajya Sabha from 1990 to 1996. He is a member of the Indian National Congress. 

Related: 7 Parliamentarians Who Rose Above the Rest for Arunachal Pradesh

Related Article: 
Oct 07, 2017 15:42

WhatsApp, NorhEast Iindia, Breaking News, News, Assam, Manipur, Politics, Crime, Travel, Lifestyle, NorhEast, NorhEasters

Subscribe to NorthEast India Breaking News Alert by sending Start to 9958459882 via WhatsApp